Art images
Please check copyright restrictions before using images from these sites.
- Axis UK - online artists register, including images
- BAPLA - information about picture libraries in Britain
- Google Image Search - general images search engine
- Olga's Gallery- Online Art Museum with digital images for educational use.
- The Public Domain Review - Curated image collections, for download, with links to original sources. Check copyright restrictions.
- TinEye - Reverse image search engine - upload images and find where they appear online. Useful for tracing image sources.
- VADS (Visual Arts Data Service) - digital image collections for higher education, and guides to creating them. Includes Design Council Archive images and Royal College of Art students work
- Wikipedia : public domain image resources - Listing of public domain image resources.
Selected arts listings
- New Exhibitions of Contemporary Art - online version of the monthly NECA guide - a listing of contemporary art galleries in London, the Regions, Channel Islands, Ireland, Scotland and Wales -with the exhibitions and artists currently on show. An easy way to find the web site and e-mail for London galleries
- artupdate.com - lists openings of forthcoming exhibitions, international
- artnet.com - commercial, contemporary artists - site listing commercially successful contemporary artists and galleries. Founded in 1989 by a group of art dealers, and designed to be used to 'research, browse, bid and buy art'
- Culture 24 - formerly 24 Hour Museum, a UK government gateway site to museums and galleries
Art galleries and museums online databases
- Art UK - digital images of paintings from publicly owned collections in the UK
- British Library images Online
- Google Art Project - features images of collections from international galleries and museums
- Guggenheim Museums - searchable database of selected artworks from the Guggenheim’s permanent collection
- Metropolitan Museum of Art - search the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collections
- Tate Images - online service which enables you to purchase quality images from the Tate Gallery collection
- Victoria and Albert Museum - search digital images of the V&A's collections of design and applied arts
- Wellcome Collection - a free museum and library that aims to challenge how we all think and feel about health.
Video and film art
- Artangel - commissioner and publisher (London)
- British Artists Film and Video Study Collection - database from research collection at Central St. Martins (AHRB funded)
- Bureau des Videos - contemporary art video distribution and production company
- Electronic Arts Intermix - video bank and supplier of canonical and contemorary art and performance art videos (New York)
- Heure Exquise - site promoting video art and video creation, with a large catalogue (France)
- Film and Video Umbrella - touring agency for artists' film, video and digital media (London)
- Hi-Beam - links to retailers + bulletin boards
- ICA - gallery and shop (London)
- Illuminations - the Eye series, Turner prize videos etc
- Light Cone - some videos for sale, mostly films for rental (Paris)
- LUX - promotes and supports artists moving image work. Includes study section and other good links sections
- The Kitchen - arts centre that produces videos (New York)
- Michael Blackwood Productions - films and videos on art, architecture, music, dance
- Radical software - digitised early video magazine, 1970-74
- Re-Voir - project founded to make a collection of videotapes of experimental film available
- Roland Collection of Videos and Films on Art
- TruMedia - supplies Phaidon videos
- Video DataBank - art video supplier and bank with clips (Chicago)
- Women Make Movies - feminist media arts organisation which also supplies videos
