Chat With Us
Getting started with the Library
Parliament updates
Loading ...
Search Reading Lists
Databases - make sure to check the video guides to the databases below
- Social Sciences Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Social Sciences Premium Collection is a tool for cross-checking the Criminology Collection, Education Collection, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Library & Information Science Collection, Linguistics Collection, Politics Collection, Social Science Database, and the Sociology Collection. A video guide to searching the resource can be found here.
In Library Search - Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new windowBoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education. Our academically-focused system allows staff and students at subscribing institutions to record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels, and search our extensive archive.
Please note that due to licensing restrictions users can only access this resource from within the UK
Not in Library Search - Elsevier ScienceDirect Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to a selection of journals published by Elsevier, including former Academic Press titles, with some backfiles going back to 1997. We subscribe to journals in four subject collections: Computer Science, Neuroscience, Psychology and Social Sciences. [Full-text access is indicated by a green icon.]
Partially in Library Search - FT.com This link opens in a new windowTo access this resource please click here to register an account using your Goldsmiths email address.
FT.com is the website for the renowned newspaper The Financial Times. In addition to the day's news FT.com provides access to education blogs, news and insights, customisable newsletters and Lex, their premium daily commentary service. A video guide to using its advanced features can be found here.
Not in Library Search - HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is a substantial collection of legal research materials, primarily US-focused, but also encompassing international law and other jurisdictions, including the UK. It contains a Law Journal Library covering more than 2,500 journals. It also contains the English Reports and over 1,400 treatises on law and politics, dating from the seventeenth to the twentieth centuries. A video guide to searching the resource can be found here.
Partially in Library Search - UK Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new windowThe House of Commons Parliamentary Papers are the working documents of the British government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy. It covers Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accounts and Papers and other materials.
Not in Library Search - JSTOR Art and Sciences Collections I-XV This link opens in a new windowGoldsmiths members have access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences collections I-XV. The collections provide access to an archival back run of each journal, often dating back to Vol.1. Current journals are subject to a "moving wall" of access between 2 and 5 years behind the most recently published issue.
Arts & Sciences journals archives is one of several JSTOR databases Goldsmiths have access to. See here for a full list.
In Library Search - Nexis This link opens in a new windowNexis contains thousands of national and international newspapers and other news sources. It also provides international company and industry information and biographical data for many individuals. A video guide to using the resource can be found here.
Not in Library Search - Parliament.uk This link opens in a new windowParliament.uk includes the progress of Bills through the UK parliament, incorporating all amendments of the houses and committees. The website also includes Hansard going back to 1803.
Not in Library Search - Social Sciences Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Social Sciences Premium Collection is a tool for cross-checking the Criminology Collection, Education Collection, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Library & Information Science Collection, Linguistics Collection, Politics Collection, Social Science Database, and the Sociology Collection. A video guide to searching the resource can be found here.
In Library Search - Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new windowGoldsmiths subscription to selected e-journals.
In Library Search - Sage Research Methods Online (Core collection) This link opens in a new windowA tool designed to help you create research projects and understand the methods behind them. SAGE Research Methods' taxonomy of over 1,400 methods terms links to authoritative content including: Over 640 books, Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, The entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series, Two major works collating a selection of journal articles and Newly commissioned videos. SRMO LibGuide
In Library Search - Social Theory This link opens in a new windowSocial Theory offers an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. This final release features more than 150,000 pages of content by such major theorists as Theodor Adorno, Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Émile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Jürgen Habermas, Robert Merton, Dorothy E. Smith , and Talcott Parsons.
In Library Search - Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new windowGoldsmiths subscription to selected e-journals.
In Library Search - UK Data Archive This link opens in a new windowThe UK's largest collection of digital research data in the social sciences. To access the datasets go to sign up. The first time you login you will be required to register.
Not in Library Search - Westlaw This link opens in a new windowWestlaw is our primary resource for UK and EU Law and a number of international jurisdictions. It contains current and historic legislation and case law and has a very searchable journals index with many key titles in full text. It also contains its own topic guides to law and hosts the main legal dictionaries plus many other legal books. A video guide to the resource can be found here.
Partially in Library Search - Westlaw International This link opens in a new windowWestlaw international includes case law and legislation from a number of foreign jurisdictions plus international arbitration materials including arbitration awards and the text of many treaties. It also includes legal journals from around the world and international news.
Not in Library Search
- Social Sciences Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Social Sciences Premium Collection is a tool for cross-checking the Criminology Collection, Education Collection, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Library & Information Science Collection, Linguistics Collection, Politics Collection, Social Science Database, and the Sociology Collection. A video guide to searching the resource can be found here.
In Library Search - Elsevier ScienceDirect Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to a selection of journals published by Elsevier, including former Academic Press titles, with some backfiles going back to 1997. We subscribe to journals in four subject collections: Computer Science, Neuroscience, Psychology and Social Sciences. [Full-text access is indicated by a green icon.]
Partially in Library Search - FT.com This link opens in a new windowTo access this resource please click here to register an account using your Goldsmiths email address.
FT.com is the website for the renowned newspaper The Financial Times. In addition to the day's news FT.com provides access to education blogs, news and insights, customisable newsletters and Lex, their premium daily commentary service. A video guide to using its advanced features can be found here.
Not in Library Search - HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is a substantial collection of legal research materials, primarily US-focused, but also encompassing international law and other jurisdictions, including the UK. It contains a Law Journal Library covering more than 2,500 journals. It also contains the English Reports and over 1,400 treatises on law and politics, dating from the seventeenth to the twentieth centuries. A video guide to searching the resource can be found here.
Partially in Library Search - JSTOR Art and Sciences Collections I-XV This link opens in a new windowGoldsmiths members have access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences collections I-XV. The collections provide access to an archival back run of each journal, often dating back to Vol.1. Current journals are subject to a "moving wall" of access between 2 and 5 years behind the most recently published issue.
Arts & Sciences journals archives is one of several JSTOR databases Goldsmiths have access to. See here for a full list.
In Library Search - Nexis This link opens in a new windowNexis contains thousands of national and international newspapers and other news sources. It also provides international company and industry information and biographical data for many individuals. A video guide to using the resource can be found here.
Not in Library Search - Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new windowGoldsmiths subscription to selected e-journals.
In Library Search - Social Theory This link opens in a new windowSocial Theory offers an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. This final release features more than 150,000 pages of content by such major theorists as Theodor Adorno, Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Émile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Jürgen Habermas, Robert Merton, Dorothy E. Smith , and Talcott Parsons.
In Library Search - Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new windowGoldsmiths subscription to selected e-journals.
In Library Search - Westlaw This link opens in a new windowWestlaw is our primary resource for UK and EU Law and a number of international jurisdictions. It contains current and historic legislation and case law and has a very searchable journals index with many key titles in full text. It also contains its own topic guides to law and hosts the main legal dictionaries plus many other legal books. A video guide to the resource can be found here.
Partially in Library Search
- Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new windowBoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education. Our academically-focused system allows staff and students at subscribing institutions to record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels, and search our extensive archive.
Please note that due to licensing restrictions users can only access this resource from within the UK
Not in Library Search - FT.com This link opens in a new windowTo access this resource please click here to register an account using your Goldsmiths email address.
FT.com is the website for the renowned newspaper The Financial Times. In addition to the day's news FT.com provides access to education blogs, news and insights, customisable newsletters and Lex, their premium daily commentary service. A video guide to using its advanced features can be found here.
Not in Library Search - UK Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new windowThe House of Commons Parliamentary Papers are the working documents of the British government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy. It covers Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accounts and Papers and other materials.
Not in Library Search - HUDOC This link opens in a new windowHUDOC is the database of cases at the European Court of Human Rights.
Not in Library Search - Nexis This link opens in a new windowNexis contains thousands of national and international newspapers and other news sources. It also provides international company and industry information and biographical data for many individuals. A video guide to using the resource can be found here.
Not in Library Search - Sage Research Methods Online (Core collection) This link opens in a new windowA tool designed to help you create research projects and understand the methods behind them. SAGE Research Methods' taxonomy of over 1,400 methods terms links to authoritative content including: Over 640 books, Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, The entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series, Two major works collating a selection of journal articles and Newly commissioned videos. SRMO LibGuide
In Library Search - UK Data Archive This link opens in a new windowThe UK's largest collection of digital research data in the social sciences. To access the datasets go to sign up. The first time you login you will be required to register.
Not in Library Search - UN Treaty Series This link opens in a new windowThe UN Treaty Series is a searchable database of international treaties registered at the UN after 1945 and at the League of Nations before.
Not in Library Search - Westlaw This link opens in a new windowWestlaw is our primary resource for UK and EU Law and a number of international jurisdictions. It contains current and historic legislation and case law and has a very searchable journals index with many key titles in full text. It also contains its own topic guides to law and hosts the main legal dictionaries plus many other legal books. A video guide to the resource can be found here.
Partially in Library Search
- UK Data Archive This link opens in a new windowThe UK's largest collection of digital research data in the social sciences. To access the datasets go to sign up. The first time you login you will be required to register.
Not in Library Search - FT.com This link opens in a new windowTo access this resource please click here to register an account using your Goldsmiths email address.
FT.com is the website for the renowned newspaper The Financial Times. In addition to the day's news FT.com provides access to education blogs, news and insights, customisable newsletters and Lex, their premium daily commentary service. A video guide to using its advanced features can be found here.
Not in Library Search
- ESCOE Historical UK DataThe UK Historical Data repository has been developed jointly by the Bank of England, ESCoE and the Office for National Statistics. It contains a repository of historical UK data and relevant statistical publications with a focus is on macroeconomic and financial market data. It also includes a range of disaggregated economic data at a sector, industry and regional level.
