Goldsmiths - University of London
Subject Guides
Skip to main content

Library Services and Academic Skills Support During COVID-19: Special Collections and Archives

Access to Special Collections and Archives

While students, staff and external researchers are unable to access the tens of thousands of physical items in our collections, we can make available many digital versions.

Search our Archive and Textile Catalogue

Contact us on the chat at the side of this page - we'll help you right away if any Special Collections & Archives staff are online. Or email special.collections@gold.ac.uk.

 

Examples of Digital Content

Electronic Music, ground-breaking 20th century woman composer, experimental music
Daphne Oram Archive.

Hundreds of key documents and photographs from the Daphne Oram Archive are digitally available on the Oram Archive catalogue.

Look especially at the items in ORAM/1/1 Oramics, Early Conceptions and ORAM/7 Photographs. We can make some other digital documents available to students, lecturers and researchers that aren’t on the catalogue. Please get in touch!

Textiles: historic clothing, art and textiles from around the world!
Textile Collection

Hundreds of images from our textile collection are can be browsed on VADS (the Visual Arts Data Service, an online collection of images for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK). If you're looking for something specific, include your search term and 'Constance Howard' in your search to retrieve items from our collection. You can also search the Textile Collection on our Archive and Textile Catalogue. Go to the Advanced Search and use the RefNo "TC/M*" along with your search term in Any Text. Select a Reference number from the list to see the catalogue record and photos.

Documenting women’s art practice; fuelling, facilitating and archiving new work 
The Women’s Art Library 

We have hundreds of images that are not online but are available for us to send directly to lecturers, researchers and artists. This collection of books and catalogues is backed up with a special collection of artists’ documentation. To get an idea of what this is see the Women’s Art Library archive catalogue. You’ll see to a list of sub-collections of things like boxes and posters that you can browse.

You can get a flavour of what’s in the Women’s Art Library through past projects that take the WAL collection into the virtual space such as:

Images from our Collections

Production photo for documentary film The Double Day (1976) about women in Latin America, directed by Helena Solberg-Ladd  

(The Other Cinema TOC/1/10) 

Embroidery of the Taj Mahal, India. Artist and provenance unknown (Goldsmiths Textile Collection TC/S/399) 

Promotional card for the exhibition Guildford minus forty, Dec 1968-Jan 1969 (Hugh Davies Collection)

The Body Politic: Gay Liberation Journal, No. 15 (1974)   

(Vic Seidler Collection SEID/1/7/3) 

XX Club’, a student society at Goldsmiths limited to twenty members, convened for the reading of plays. c. 1916. (Goldsmiths College Archive GOLD/4/7/4) 

Student Union Handbook 1968-69 with address from M. Russell Profit, the first Black president of a UK university SU (Goldsmiths College Archive) 

Japanese-style parasol, date unknown (Goldsmiths Textile Collection TC/M/4512) 

language and its uses (1972) by Lily Greenham (Lily Greehnam Archive) 

Daphne Oram with her Oramics Machine, before 1944. Photo: Fred Wood. (Oram Archive ORAM/7/9/013) 

Chat With Us

Contact Us