Finding Journal Articles
Individual Journal Titles
You can browse individual journal titles using Browzine our searchable online journal platform. Search for a relevant keyword or use the pre-defined subject areas to easily browse and read thousands of journals.
-
BrowZine
In Library Search
You can also use our journal A-Z to look for a specific journal you know of. This is also useful when trying to locate a specific article within a journal if you can't find it via Library Search.
Print Journals
We also have a small selection of journals which are only available as print journals. This includes older journals and a select few current journals which are unavailable electronically. Print journals cannot be borrowed, but articles can be photocopied. Use Library Search to find out how whether a journal is available in print or online and it's location.
Journals with a classmark between 000-699 are on the first floor. Journals with a classmark of 700- are on the second floor. These cannot be borrowed, but articles can be photocopied.
Library Search
Library Search is the quickest and easiest way to find a wide selection of Journal Articles on any given topic and will search across most of the journal collections and databases at Goldsmiths. Enter a few words or phrases into the main search bar, and you'll receive a set of results, which can be refined by various criteria, e.g. subject, Resource type, etc. Where available you can access the full text of any article in your search results by clicking on the title and following the link to the online resource under View Online in the pop up window.
Note about accessing content via Library Search: If you are on-campus, the content provider should know that you are a Goldsmiths user and provide access easily. If you are off-campus, you will need to sign-in as a Goldsmiths user. You might be deliberately prompted to sign-in, but if not, look for a sign-in option (usually at the top of the page). You will probably see a range of choices - look for either Institutional or Shibboleth log-in. You might then need to choose your region/university - after which you can enter your username and password to access the full-text.
* NOTE: Content from some of our databases and other online resources is not available via Library Search. For example, Library Search does not search across databases supplied by EBSCO. This includes all the psychology databases, including PsycINFO. Therefore you will need to search these databases separately. Look for the coloured icons beneath each named database or Journal collection below to see whether its content is included in Library Search or not.
Senate House also subscribes to many journals that we don't have subscriptions to. Register in person and ask for access to electronic resources. Once registered, you can use all their electronic journals off-campus.
If you need a journal article unavailable here or at Senate House, you can request it on Inter Library Loan. Use the link on the search screen of the library catalogue.
Librarian
