Computing: Special Collections and Archives

A.L. Lloyd Collection
The library and papers of A.L. (Bert) Lloyd (1908-1982), a well-known folklorist, writer, broadcaster, performer and Communist Party member. The collection covers his work related to folksong. It touches on traditional music from around the world but is particularly strong in East European, British and American folksong, industrial song, socialist song and the UK folk music revival. The collection consists of over 1,600 books and pamphlets, along with manuscripts, newspaper cuttings, photographs, notes, drafts of articles, texts of lectures, diaries, annotated proofs, slides and tapes. 
Books and pamphlets catalogue
Papers catalogue  

Ewan MacColl and Peggy Seeger Collection
The library of the folk-singers Ewan MacColl and Peggy Seeger, two key members of the Folk Music revival, which began in the 1950s. Ewan MacColl performed and worked with A.L. Lloyd, whose collection we also hold. The MacColl and Seeger collection covers British and Irish folk-song and ballads but is particularly strong on Scotland. The collection extends to worker’s songs and material relating to industrial action, human rights, anti-fascism, socialism, women’s rights, anti-war, Traveller communities and other political struggles to which both MacColl and Seeger were committed. The library contains many old and rare books. 
Search the Library catalogue for this collection.

Alan Bush Collection
Part of the library of composer, pianist, conductor, teacher, political activist, communist and founder of the Worker’s Music Association, Allan Bush (1900-1995). The collection, mainly music scores, covers East European art, music and folk song with some other scores used by the composer personally. The collection also includes uncatalogued archival material, divided by country/category.  
Search the Library catalogue for this collection. 

Collection of The Centre for Russian Music
The Centre for Russian Music (CRM) is a research hub at Goldsmiths to support research and performance of Russian and Soviet music, musical culture and politics. This collection is the main archive of Russian music outside Russia. The extensive and wide-ranging collection includes rare scores and editions (orchestral, operatic and chamber works), books, recordings and periodicals related to Russian music of the 17th-20th century.  
Search the Library catalogue for this collection.  

Alexander Ivashkin-Alfred Schnittke Archive
The Ivashkin-Schnittke Archive contains facsimile copies of almost every score that Schnittke completed, many original and unfinished scores, sketches, documentary material relating to premieres/commissions and an unparalleled collection of secondary sources relating to Schnittke’s work. 

Longplayer Archive 
Longplayer is a one thousand year long musical composition. It began playing at midnight on the 31st of December 1999, and will continue to play without repetition until the last moment of 2999, at which point it will complete its cycle and begin again. Conceived and composed by Jem Finer, it was originally produced as an Artangel commission, and is now in the care of the Longplayer Trust. We hold notebooks, papers relating to scores and software, papers regarding early conceptions, developments and experiments, hand-drawn graphic scores, general administrative papers, publications, events planning papers, press and media papers, Longplayer Trust papers. 
Search the Special Collections catalogue for this collection. 
Visit the Longplayer website at this link: https://longplayer.org/ 

Daphne Oram Collection 
Daphne Oram (1925–2003) is one of the central figures in the development of British experimental electronic music, co-founder of the BBC Radiophonic Workshop and creator of ‘Oramics’. The collection represents Oram’s life’s work and contains a large reel-to-reel tape archive, correspondence, scores, technical papers, photographic documentation, and press cuttings. 
Search the Special Collections catalogue for this collection. 
Daphne Oram Trust website: http://daphneoram.org/ 

Dennis Stevens Collection
Collected by musicologist Dennis Stevens CBE (1922-2004), the Stevens Collection covers the life and music of Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643) and his contemporaries. It includes books, scores, journal offprints, press cuttings, concert programmes and audio cassettes.  
Search the Library catalogue for this collection. 

Kenneth Gourlay Collection 
Kenneth A. Gourlay was a British ethnomusicologist who conducted research among the Karamojong of Northeast Uganda (1965), in Papua New Guinea (1972-74) and in Nigeria (1974-80). The collection includes field recordings, papers, drafts of articles, notebooks and index cards. A complementary collection of field recordings from Nigeria and northeast Uganda compiled by Gourlay is held by the British Library and accessible online.  
Search the Special Collections Catalogue for this collection.
British Library Sound Recordings: https://sounds.bl.uk/World-and-traditional-music/Ken-Gourlay-Uganda 

Women's Revolutions Per Minute (WRPM)
As a small business, WRPM distributed radical and feminist titles into independent and mainstream music stores, bookshops and colleges as well as developing direct sales through mail order, women's music festivals and events, peace festivals and conferences. The archive contains papers documenting WRPM’s activities and over 1200 recordings representing its back catalogue. 
Search the Special Collections catalogue for this collection.
WRPM archived website: http://www.wrpm.org.uk/ 

Future Histories 
Assembled by the Future Histories arts and heritage organisation, the archives of three historic UK theatre organisations – Black Theatre Forum (1980s-90s); motiroti (1990s); and Black Theatre Co-operative, later called Nitro (1980s-90s); as well as projects of motiroti co-founders Ali Zaidi and Keith Khan. Documentation of productions, photographs, scripts, promotional material, events and administrative papers featuring ground-breaking work by playwrights, actors, producers, directors and other theatre professionals of African and Asian descent.  
Search the Special Collections catalogue for this collection.  
Website: https://futurehistories.org.uk  

London International Festival of Theatre
Archive of the London International Festival of Theatre (LIFT) from 1981-2001. LIFT presented and commissioned work from all over the world; in the period 1981-2001 companies from over 60 countries participated in the festivals. The collection includes administrative records, photographs, promotional material and audio recordings. 
Search the Special Collections catalogue for this collection. 
Videos (VHS) can be found in the Library catalogue. 

Theatre and Ireland
A collection of microfilms of manuscripts, diaries and other items held in the National Library of Ireland, the British Library and Trinity College, Dublin, including: The W.A. Henerson Scrapbooks (5 reels), 1899-1911, containing newspaper cuttings, programmes, newsletters, playbills, photographs and letters relating to the Abbey Theatre and cultural life in Ireland at the beginning of the twentieth century; Drury Lane under Sheridan 1776-1812 (16 reels), containing manuscript plays and managerial correspondence; The diaries of Joseph Holloway, 1895-1930, recording almost every major performance at the Abbey Theatre, the Gate Theatre and amateur theatres of Dublin, as well as London and touring performances (105 reels).

Terence Kelly papers
A broadcast specialist reporter for the UK Press Gazette has deposited his collection of press cuttings, papers and reports, relating mainly to radio in Britain from the 1970s-2001.
Search the Special Collections catalogue for this collection. 

Margot Heinemann Papers
Margot Claire Heinemann (1913 – 1992) was a British Marxist writer, drama scholar, and leading member of the Communist Party of Great Britain. She was employed in the Labour Research Department from 1937 and taught in the English Department at Goldsmiths from 1965-1977. Her papers contain early notes, writings and personal correspondence, her work on literature, society, politics, communism and culture of the twentieth century, especially 1930s and Spain, and the archive of her work on 16th and 17th century drama, history, society and politics, including notes on Shakespeare. 
Search the Special Collections catalogue for this collection.  

Deac Rossell Papers
International collection on cinema compiled by Deac Rossell, Lecturer in European Studies in the Department of English & Comparative Literature at Goldsmiths. Predominantly post-1950 material, including many reference works on the global history of motion pictures. The collection contains significant holdings of: animated films, documentary, studio histories, British cinema, Asian cinemas including Hong Kong films and filmmakers, Indian cinema, Arab cinema and African national cinemas and Black films and filmmaking including African American cinema. Extensive filmographies can be found in the collection of directories and festival programmes from around the world.  
Any books can be found on the Library catalogue. 
Rossell Papers can be found on the Special Collections catalogue. 

The Other Cinema
The Other Cinema was set up in 1970 as a non-profit-making, independent film distribution company in London. It played an important role in the screening of experimental and radical film in Britain. Goldsmiths holds press and publicity materials for all films distributed by TOC, correspondence with directors and producers; receipts and invoices indicating the distribution history of these films, and details of subtitling and contractual relations; photographs; financial records; administrative correspondence and related papers including papers of Artificial Eye Film Company; British Film Institute papers; fundraising papers; general printed material; Save the Other Cinema campaign papers between 1961-2005. 
Search the Special Collections catalogue for this collection. 

Thomas Collection
The collection is comprised mostly of books and some CDs donated by John Thomas, notably material on the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) including annual reports and handbooks 1935-1985 (incomplete), as well as material relating to: broadcasting in teaching & education, radio plays including The Archers, independent radio, propaganda, sound recording, popular television, items regarding broadcasting internationally: South Africa, Zambia, Netherlands, Japan, US, Ireland and Mexico. 
Search the Library catalogue for this collection. 

Richard Hoggart Papers
Papers relating to committees external to Goldsmiths of which Richard Hoggart (1918-2014, Warden of Goldsmiths 1976-1984) was a part.  
Search the Special Collections catalogue for this collection. 

Margot Heinemann
Margot Claire Heinemann (1913 – 1992) was a British Marxist writer, drama scholar, and leading member of the Communist Party of Great Britain. She was employed in the Labour Research Department from 1937 and taught in the English Department at Goldsmiths from 1965-1977. Her papers contain early notes, writings and personal correspondence, her work on literature, society, politics, communism and culture of the twentieth century, especially 1930s and Spain, and the archive of her work on 16th and 17th century drama, history, society and politics, including notes on Shakespeare. 
Search the Special Collections catalogue for this collection. 

Ben Gidley Papers
The collection consists of material on anti-fascist, ant-racist, anti-gentrification, anti-capitalist, environmental, anarchist, and Marxist movements, in the UK and particularly in London. Material was collected at the Centre for Urban and Community Research at Goldsmiths in its engagement with regeneration and community politics in London, and particularly in East and Southeast London, especially in Deptford, New Cross and other parts of the borough of Lewisham. It includes documentation relating to the major regeneration programmes in the area from the mid-1990s to 2009, including Deptford City Challenge, as well as materials relating to community mobilisation around these. 
Search the Special Collections catalogue for this collection. 

Victor Seidler Papers
A collection of papers, pamphlets, publications and ephemera relating to social and political issues collected by Vic Seidler, Emeritus Professor of Sociology at Goldsmiths. The papers mostly date from the late 1950s-1980s (with some later dates) and are divided into broad topics, including: Feminism and gender issues; masculinity and sexual politics; LGBT issues 1950s-1978; race, racism, and black and Asian people in Britain; Communism, Anarchism, Marxism, Socialism and Fascism; media 1970-1975; education; strikes, labour and solidarity; psychology, therapy and mental health. The collection includes incomplete runs of Race Today, Big Flame and Solidarity publications as well as papers relating to social movements in Chile, Latin America, Africa, Northern Ireland and Europe. It also contains papers accrued during Seidler’s work on 'Achilles Heel: radical men's magazine' of which he was a founding member. 
Search the Special Collection catalogue for Seidler Papers. 
Search the Library catalogue for Seidler Books.  

Stevan K. Pavlowitch Collection 
Assembled by Stevan K. Pavlowitch (1933-2022), leading Serbian British historian and emeritus professor of Balkan history at the University of Southampton, the collection consists of around 500 books, mostly in English, Serbo-Croat and Italian, and some in French. There’s a focus on the history of the Second World War in the Balkans and on modern Balkan history in general.  
Search the Library catalogue for this collection.

Adrian Rifkin – Paris Commune Collection 
A collection of 70 books, consisting of early French publications on the Paris Commune of 1871 and related material, collected by Professor Adrian Rifkin and donated in 2008.  
Search the Library catalogue for this collection. 

Goldsmiths College
Material relating to the history of Goldsmiths College, University of London, [1896-2014]: photographs, articles, press cuttings and student and staff publications. Administrative records of the College: papers relating to governance, Council, Academic Board, the Warden and Student’s Association. The collection includes student handbooks, college prospectuses, annual reports and papers concerning buildings. Additionally, William Loring Papers, The College Publications Collection and a collection of historic books fall under the umbrella of the College Collection. 
Search the Special Collections catalogue for this collection. 
Search the Library catalogue for books within the collection.

College Publications Collection
This collection was begun in 1999 to ensure that all publications with the College imprint are accessible at one site. The collection includes pamphlets and books published by the university, works in association with the university (not Goldsmiths Press), and student publications. 
Search the Library catalogue for this collection. 

College Collection & Showcase Collection 
Rare and older published works collected by the Library. The collection contains items originally acquired by Colleges that joined with Goldsmiths, such as St. Gabriel's College, Rachel Macmillan Institute and the Millard Art Library. Includes: books, journals, scores and CDs.  
Search the Library catalogue for this collection.  

Ben Gidley Papers
The collection consists of material on anti-fascist, ant-racist, anti-gentrification, anti-capitalist, environmental, anarchist, and Marxist movements, in the UK and particularly in London. Material was collected at the Centre for Urban and Community Research at Goldsmiths in its engagement with regeneration and community politics in London, and particularly in East and Southeast London, especially in Deptford, New Cross and other parts of the borough of Lewisham. It includes documentation relating to the major regeneration programmes in the area from the mid-1990s to 2009, including Deptford City Challenge, as well as materials relating to community mobilisation around these. 
Search the Special Collections catalogue for this collection. 

Margot Heinemann
Margot Claire Heinemann (1913 – 1992) was a British Marxist writer, drama scholar, and leading member of the Communist Party of Great Britain. She was employed in the Labour Research Department from 1937 and taught in the English Department at Goldsmiths from 1965-1977. Her papers contain early notes, writings and personal correspondence, her work on literature, society, politics, communism and culture of the twentieth century, especially 1930s and Spain, and the archive of her work on 16th and 17th century drama, history, society and politics, including notes on Shakespeare. 
Search the Special Collections catalogue for this collection. 

Richard Hoggart Papers
Papers relating to committees external to Goldsmiths of which Richard Hoggart (1918-2014, Warden of Goldsmiths 1976-1984) was a part.  
Search the Special Collections catalogue for this collection. 

William Loring Papers (1865-1915)
William Loring, MA, DCM, MiD, was a soldier and the first Warden of Goldsmiths College appointed in early 1905. Prior to his appointment he had been active in the South African war of 1899-1902. At the outbreak of the First World War in August 1914, he re-joined his regiment, the Scottish Horse and died from injuries sustained in Gallipoli, 1915. The collections include: testimonials, correspondence, photographs, legal papers, printed material and newspaper cuttings. 
Search the Special Collections catalogue for this collection. 

Deac Rossell Papers
International collection on cinema compiled by Deac Rossell, Lecturer in European Studies in the Department of English & Comparative Literature at Goldsmiths. Predominantly post-1950 material, including many reference works on the global history of motion pictures. The collection contains significant holdings of: animated films, documentary, studio histories, British cinema, Asian cinemas including Hong Kong films and filmmakers, Indian cinema, Arab cinema and African national cinemas and Black films and filmmaking including African American cinema. Extensive filmographies can be found in the collection of directories and festival programmes from around the world.  
Any books can be found on the Library catalogue. 
Rossell Papers can be found on the Special Collections catalogue. 

Victor Seidler Papers
A collection of papers, pamphlets, publications and ephemera relating to social and political issues collected by Vic Seidler, Emeritus Professor of Sociology at Goldsmiths. The papers mostly date from the late 1950s-1980s (with some later dates) and are divided into broad topics, including: Feminism and gender issues; masculinity and sexual politics; LGBT issues 1950s-1978; race, racism, and black and Asian people in Britain; Communism, Anarchism, Marxism, Socialism and Fascism; media 1970-1975; education; strikes, labour and solidarity; psychology, therapy and mental health. The collection includes incomplete runs of Race Today, Big Flame and Solidarity publications as well as papers relating to social movements in Chile, Latin America, Africa, Northern Ireland and Europe. It also contains papers accrued during Seidler’s work on 'Achilles Heel: radical men's magazine' of which he was a founding member. 
Search the Special Collection catalogue for Seidler Papers. 
Search the Library catalogue for Seidler Books.