Information
Ecology is the scientific study of the distribution and abundance of organisms, and how those organisms interact with each other and with their environment, which includes both living (e.g. competitors for food) and non-living (e.g. atmospheric nitrogen) components.
Horn, V. (2010). Ecology. In D.S. Mills (Ed.), The encyclopedia of applied animal behavior & welfare. [Online]. Oxford: CABI.
The concept map above is generated via Credo Reference. To find definitions and reference articles about ecology in Credo Reference click here.
Related keywords include: Human ecology, Deep ecology, Biodiversity
A selection of journals available through Goldsmiths Library about Ecology.
- Antipode
Antipode publishes innovative papers that push at the boundaries of radical geographical thinking. Papers will be rigorous and substantive in theoretical and empirical terms - Ecological Economics
Ecological economics is an interdisciplinary field defined by a set of concrete problems or challenges related to governing economic activity in a way that promotes human well-being, sustainability, and justice. The journal thus emphasizes critical work that draws on and integrates elements of ecological science, economics, and the analysis of values, behaviors, cultural practices, institutional structures, and societal dynamics. - Ecology and Society
A Journal of integrative science for resilience and sustainability - Journal of Political Ecology
JPE is a peer reviewed journal publishing research into the linkages between political economy and human environmental impacts, across different locations and academic disciplines. - Ecological Citizen
The Ecological Citizen is an independent, peer-reviewed, free-to-access journal that provides a forum for inspiring and mobilizing discussion with an Earth-centred perspective.
A selection of books available though Goldsmiths Library about Ecology
Contemporary Perspectives on Ecofeminism by
Why is ecofeminism still needed to address the environmental emergencies and challenges of our times? Ecofeminism has a chequered history in terms of its popularity and its perceived value in conceptualizing the relationship between gender and nature as well as feeding forms of activism that aim to confront the environmental challenges of the moment. This book provides a much-needed comprehensive overview of the relevance and value of using eco-feminist theories. It gives a broad coverage of traditional and emerging eco-feminist theories and explores, across a range of chapters, their various contributions and uniquely spans various strands of ecofeminist thinking. The origins of influential eco-feminist theories are discussed including key themes and some of its leading figures (contributors include Erika Cudworth, Greta Gaard, Trish Glazebrook and Niamh Moore), and outlines its influence on how scholars might come to a more generative understanding of the natural environment. The book examines eco-feminism¿s potential contribution for advancing current discussions and research on the relationships between the humans and more than humans that share our world. This timely volume makes a distinctive scholarly contribution and is a valuable resources for students and academics in the fields of environmentalism, political ecology, sustainability and nature resource management.
ISBN: 9781138019744Publication Date: 2015-11-30
Critical Ecologies by
Environmental movements are the subject of increasingly rigorous political theoretical study. Can the Frankfurt School's critical frameworks be used to address ecological issues, or do environmental conflicts remain part of the "failed promise" of this group? Critical Ecologies aims to redeem the theories of major Frankfurt thinkers--Theodor Adorno, Max Horkheimer, and Herbert Marcuse, among others--by applying them to contemporary environmental crises. Critical Ecologies argues that sustainability and critical social theory have many similar goals, including resistance to different forms of domination. Like the Frankfurt School itself, the essays in this volume reflect a spirit of interdisciplinarity and draw attention to intersections between environmental, socio-political, and philosophical issues. Offering textual analyses by leading scholars in both critical theory and environmental politics, Critical Ecologies underscores the continued relevance of the Frankfurt School's ideas for addressing contemporary issues.
ISBN: 9780802098405Publication Date: 2011-03-19
Critical Political Ecology by
Critical Political Ecology brings political debate to the science of ecology. As political controversies multiply over the science underlying environmental debates, there is an increasing need to understand the relationship between environmental science and politics. In this timely and wide-ranging volume, Tim Forsyth uses an innovative approach to apply political analysis to ecology, and demonstrates how more politicised approaches to science can be used in environmental decision-making. Critical Political Ecology examines: *how social and political factors frame environmental science, and how science in turn shapes politics *how new thinking in philosophy and sociology of science can provide fresh insights into the biophysical causes and impacts of environmental problems *how policy and decision-makers can acknowledge the political influences on science and achieve more effective public participation and governance.
ISBN: 0415185629Publication Date: 2002-12-30
General Ecology by
Ecology has become one of the most urgent and lively fields in both the humanities and sciences. In a dramatic widening of scope beyond its original concern with the coexistence of living organisms within a natural environment, it is now recognized that there are ecologies of mind, information, sensation, perception, power, participation, media, behavior, belonging, values, the social, the political. a thousand ecologies. This proliferation is not simply a metaphorical extension of the figurative potential of natural ecology: rather, it reflects the thoroughgoing imbrication of natural and technological elements in the constitution of the contemporary environments we inhabit, the rise of a cybernetic natural state, with its corresponding mode of power. Hence this ecology of ecologies initiates and demands that we go beyond the specificity of any particular ecology: a general thinking of ecology which may also constitute an ecological transformation of thought itself is required. In this ambitious and radical new volume of writings, some of the most exciting contemporary thinkers in the field take on the task of revealing and theorizing the extent of the ecologization of existence as the effect of our contemporary sociotechnological condition: together, they bring out the complexity and urgency of the challenge of ecological thought-one we cannot avoid if we want to ask and indeed have a chance of affecting what forms of life, agency, modes of existence, human or otherwise, will participate-and how-in this planet's future.
ISBN: 9781350014695Publication Date: 2017-05-04
Literature As Cultural Ecology by
Drawing on the latest debates in ecocritical theory and sustainability studies, Literature as Cultural Ecology: Sustainable Texts outlines a new approach to the reading of literary texts. Hubert Zapf considers the ways in which literature operates as a form of cultural ecology, using language, imagination and critique to challenge and transform cultural narratives of humanity's relationship to nature. In this way, the book demonstrates the important role that literature plays in creating a more sustainable way of life. Applying this approach to works by writers such as Emily Dickinson, Edgar Allan Poe, Herman Melville, William Faulkner, Toni Morrison, Zakes Mda, and Amitav Ghosh, Literature as Cultural Ecology is an essential contribution to the contemporary environmental humanities.
ISBN: 9781474274654Publication Date: 2016-04-21
The Mushroom at the End of the World by
What a rare mushroom can teach us about sustaining life on a fragile planet Matsutake is the most valuable mushroom in the world--and a weed that grows in human-disturbed forests across the northern hemisphere. Through its ability to nurture trees, matsutake helps forests to grow in daunting places. It is also an edible delicacy in Japan, where it sometimes commands astronomical prices. In all its contradictions, matsutake offers insights into areas far beyond just mushrooms and addresses a crucial question: what manages to live in the ruins we have made? A tale of diversity within our damaged landscapes, The Mushroom at the End of the World follows one of the strangest commodity chains of our times to explore the unexpected corners of capitalism. Here, we witness the varied and peculiar worlds of matsutake commerce: the worlds of Japanese gourmets, capitalist traders, Hmong jungle fighters, industrial forests, Yi Chinese goat herders, Finnish nature guides, and more. These companions also lead us into fungal ecologies and forest histories to better understand the promise of cohabitation in a time of massive human destruction. By investigating one of the world's most sought-after fungi, The Mushroom at the End of the World presents an original examination into the relation between capitalist destruction and collaborative survival within multispecies landscapes, the prerequisite for continuing life on earth.
ISBN: 9780691162751Publication Date: 2015-09-29
A selection of databases available through Goldsmiths Library useful for green issues and environmental research.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference is an online database of encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference texts with access to 3,476,088 full text articles in 942 titles from 116 publishers covering a wide range of subjects.
In Library Search - Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) This link opens in a new windowThe primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
Partially in Library Search - GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. Partially in Library Search
- Practical Law: EnvironmentPractical Law is an online legal know how service. The Environment section gives detailed legal guidance such as practice notes, current awareness and standard documents that relate to Environment Law.
- Centre for Urban and Community ResearchWe are central to debates on community, ecology, governance, multiculture, citizenship, arts and media in cities.
- Critical EcologiesA Goldsmiths research stream, part of the Technologies, Worlds, Politics research theme.
- Ecomedia Studieshe primary mission of the Ecomedia Studies community is to facilitate interdisciplinary scholarship by offering forums for cross-disciplinary communication.
- The Seed BoxThe Seed Box is an interdisciplinary and internationally oriented pilot program in Environmental Humanities funded by Mistra (The Swedish Foundation for Strategic Environmental Research) and Formas (The Swedish Research Council for Environment, Agricultural Sciences, and Spatial Planning).