Chat With Us
Getting started with the Library
PubMed
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free online citation database for health and medicine, including psychology.
Some citations link to the full-text, provided by Goldsmiths (look out for the Findit@Gold logo on the top right). To see the Findit@Gold option you must use the PubMed link above (instead of going directly to PubMed).
However not all citations will link to the full text easily. Always check the Goldsmiths catalogue to see if we have access to the journal (see the journals tab for more information).
Search Reading Lists
Featured Resources
Psychology Databases
These abstract indexes are good more in-depth searches such as when you are conducting a literature review.
We recommend using the advanced search options to control how you search. The Study Skills section of this guide features a video guide for searching.
Remember that the coverage of some databases subscribed to by Goldsmiths will include items that we do not have access to as part of our subscription, however you can use the 'Findit@Gold' options to check if we have access. If we do not have access using this method, check Library Search directly, then Senate House Library, and finally request an inter-library loan for anything you are not able to access.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowThe key database for starting your psychology research, this abstract database of psychological literature in behavioural and social sciences (from 1800s to the present) will help you identify research articles on your topic. Includes the database PsycArticles. Follow the 'full text' or Findit@Gold links to get access to the full articles.
Partially in Library Search - Social Sciences Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Social Sciences Premium Collection is a tool for cross-checking the Criminology Collection, Education Collection, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Library & Information Science Collection, Linguistics Collection, Politics Collection, Social Science Database, and the Sociology Collection. A video guide to searching the resource can be found here.
In Library Search - PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a free online citation database for health and medicine, including psychology.
Some citations link to the full-text, provided by Goldsmiths (look out for the Findit@Gold logo on the top right). To see the Findit@Gold option you must use the PubMed link above (instead of going directly to PubMed).
However not all citations will link to the full text easily. Always check the Goldsmiths Library Search to see if we have access to the journal.
Not in Library Search
- Web of Science (Primary Collection) This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Primary Collection: Thomson Reuters Web of Science provides access to the world’s leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Web of Science Primary is currently comprised of 15,700 critically-selected journals, covering 257 subject areas spanning the life sciences, physical sciences, health sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Users should register an account to access additional features such as saved searches, email alerts and better file export options.
In Library Search - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle search for academic resources. To add our FindIt@Gold links to your Google Scholar search results go to http://bit.do/LibraryLinks, search for Goldsmiths, tick the boxes and click Save.
Not in Library Search
- Sage Research Methods Online (Core collection) This link opens in a new windowA tool designed to help you create research projects and understand the methods behind them. SAGE Research Methods' taxonomy of over 1,400 methods terms links to authoritative content including: Over 640 books, Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, The entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series, Two major works collating a selection of journal articles and Newly commissioned videos. SRMO LibGuide
In Library Search
- Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new windowBoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education. Our academically-focused system allows staff and students at subscribing institutions to record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels, and search our extensive archive.
Please note that due to licensing restrictions users can only access this resource from within the UK
Not in Library Search - Sage Research Methods Online (Core collection) This link opens in a new windowA tool designed to help you create research projects and understand the methods behind them. SAGE Research Methods' taxonomy of over 1,400 methods terms links to authoritative content including: Over 640 books, Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, The entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series, Two major works collating a selection of journal articles and Newly commissioned videos. SRMO LibGuide
In Library Search
Librarian
Caitlin Moore
Subjects: Art Psychotherapy, Community and Youth Work / Community Development and Community Arts, Computing, Counselling and Psychotherapeutic Studies, Dance Movement Psychotherapy, Institute of Management Studies (IMS), Law, Music, Psychology, Psychosocial Studies, Social Work, Sociology, Understanding Domestic Violence and Sexual Abuse