Goldsmiths - University of London
Subject Guides
Skip to main content

Alumni Access to e-Resources: Library Subscribed Resources

A guide for alumni on how to access select Goldsmiths e-Resources from home.

Registering for access to subscribed resources

Registration

The Library is able to make some of online resources available via Goldsmiths Connect, the alumni social network, at goldsmithsconnect.co.uk. Once registered you'll have access to a growing number of online resources which can be accessed from the comfort of your own home.

This account is separate from any existing library membership you may have and is not dependent on you also having an alumni library membership.

Browser Requirements

To allow you to log in as an alumni, e-resource providers need to be able to see you have clicked through from our secure Goldsmiths Connect page. Some browsers hide this information so we recommend using the Firefox browser which you can download for free here: https://www.mozilla.org/en-GB/firefox/new/.You may need to click on the sheild icon by the address bar in Firefox and check 'enhanced tracking protection' is disabled. We recommend you only disable this feature while using these trusted e-resources.

Access

you need to log in to Goldsmiths Connect and join the Library e-Resources group, which will have links to e-resources currently available to alumni. It's important to use the links on this page so that you're logged in as an alumni user. 

Some tips on making sure you filter your searches to only include results you have access to are given for each site below.

Duke University Press Journals & eBooks

Access 50 journals and over 1,000 eBooks from Duke University Press. Duke University Press is an academic publisher of books and journals across humanities, social sciences, and more. 

When searching the Duke University Press platform you'll see a list of filters in a column on the left-hand side. From here you can refine your search by subject, publication format or year.

Importantly you can also select Open Access, Free and Available to ensure you only see results for items you can access.

JSTOR

Goldsmiths alumni can have access to the same JSTOR collections as current staff and students. When searching results are automatically filtered to only include Goldsmiths subscribed collections in JSTOR. 


Goldsmiths currently subscribe to the following JSTOR Collections:

  • JSTOR Art and Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV & VII
  • Digital Library of Core E-Resources on Ireland 
  • Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa (ALUKA)

 

 

Project Muse

The Project Muse standard collection includes full text articles from over 300 journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Check the 'Only content I have access to' option in the search filters to only search within subscribed journals.

Sage Premier Journals Collection

As an online alumni account holder, you have access to over 900 journals covering social sciences, humanities and life sciences included in the SAGE Premier collection. This covers most of the journals published by SAGE but to be sure you are only seeing search results you have access to just click 'Refine Search' and select 'Only content to which I have full access' before searching.

Chat With Us

Contact Us