RSS Feeds
Tip: stay up to date with your department by setting up an RSS feed to their pages on Goldsmiths Research Online (GRO).
Just follow this link to find your department, click on the link and you'll see an 
RSS icon towards the top-right of the page.
An RSS feed is a browser plugin which will let you know when new items are added to GRO or any other source with an RSS feed.
Unpaywall
Unpaywall is an easy efficient way to find legal free open access copies of nearly 10 million journal articles. Simply install the Unpaywall browser plugin and when you hit a publisher paywall an icon will pop up on your screen to let you know if a free legal copy is available.
Using Library Search to find Open Access resources.
Alumni users can use Library Search to discover Open Access resources. Just enter your search terms and then find the Open Access filter under the Refine my Results options (below left).
Results will now only include freely available resources. Library Search also includes icons to show you if an article is peer-reviewed and the 'Full text available' links will take you to the resource (below right).
Other Open Access and Free Resources
Provided below is a list of free and Open Access websites with a description of what they're useful for.
Only a few of these sites are available in Library Search so you can also use the search box below to cross-search several of them at once.
Please note the search box is en experimental feature and more advanced search and browse options may be available on each platform.
Connecting Repositories (CORE)
Free access to millions of scholarly articles aggregated from Open Access repositories.
Currently provides access to over 100,000 full text research theses from over 12 countries. Participating countries and institutions are listed on the website.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
Full text books from 155 publishers.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ provides the full text articles from over 9,500 journals from 145 countries.
US Research Libraries books project and Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries. Covers all subject areas
The Internet Archive offers over 15,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 550,000 modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.
In addition to our Library Subscribed access to JSTOR collections, JSTOR provide free access for individuals without a current institutional affiliation of up to 6 articles per month (covering 80% of journal content on JSTOR, ranging from 1870 to three years from the present)
Full text open access journal articles and book chapters.
Marxist Internet Archive (MIA)
Online library of public domain Marxist writings and audio.
A wiki for collaborative studies of the arts, media and humanities featuring downloads in a variety of media.
Provides more than 4,000 full text books from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
Links to the full text of theses from mainly American and Canadian universities, but increasingly includes content from other countries too.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Graduate theses and dissertations from around the world.
Open Culture scours the web for free educational media including courses, e-books, audio books, the language lessons & educational videos
A directory of academic Open Access repositories providing full text papers from universities worldwide.
OpenEdition brings together four platforms dedicated to electronic resources in the humanities and social sciences.
Scanned and electronic versions of books no longer under copyright.
ScienceOpen is a freely accessible research network to discover and evaluate scientific information. Search among over 27 million articles and article records, filter by citation or Altmetric score, and share your expertise via comments or peer review. NB: To ensure you get full-text, after getting your search results please use the "Add Filter" button at the top of the page to select 'Open Acess' material.
UbuWeb is a large web-based educational resource for avant-garde material with a focus on visual, concrete and sound poetry, expanding to include film and sound art mp3 archives.