Theatre and Performance Studies: Other libraries

Here are lists of other libraries you can use:

London & the South-East

• Search25 has links to academic libraries in the M25/south east region, their combined catalogues and the University of London Union list of serials.
• Senate House is the main University of London Library, concentrating primarily on the humanities and social sciences. Goldsmiths academic staff and most students can register to borrow. A list of electronic resources is available, and further information on registering online to access Senate House e-resources.
• Goldsmiths staff and students can use other University of London libraries for reference use. Please click the following links for a full list of member colleges and institutes.

UK academic libraries

• JISC Library Hub Discover holds combined catalogues of UK and Ireland HE and research libraries.
• SCONUL Access is a scheme for UK universities, their website includes a list of participating institutions. You can apply to join online at http://www.sconul.ac.uk/sconul-access

A SCONUL Access email will usually* allow you to have:

• limited borrowing facilities for academic and research staff, all postgraduates and part-time undergraduates
• limited borrowing for students on placements of 6 weeks or more
• reference access for full time undergraduates, other students and administrative staff

* Please note that individual institutions can set local restrictions on access, and not all allow borrowing for full-time postgraduates. You are advised to check with the library you intend to visit.

Information for staff/students from other institutions coming to Goldsmiths

National Libraries

• The British Library. For access see the admission requirements to get a reader pass. You must also take your Goldsmiths card to show your current academic status.
• The British Library Catalogues
• National Library of Scotland (Edinburgh)
• National Library of Wales (Aberystwyth)
• National Art Library (Victoria and Albert Museum, London) Includes national union catalogue of art periodicals.

Public libraries

• Most London boroughs/local authorities have useful large central reference libraries, e.g. Westminster Reference Library.
• Lewisham library.

UK HE libraries and research collections

• AIM25 Archives and manuscripts in M25 area libraries.
• Horniman Museum library (Forest Hill) Collections on ethnography, natural history & musical instruments.
• National Archives
• MASC25 A resource guide to printed special collections in libraries in Higher Education institutions in the London region.
• Research Libraries UK A British organisation of academic libraries. Contains information on the individual collections.

Libraries worldwide

• US Library of Congress - information about the Library of Congress collections, including a connection to the Library Catalogue.
• The European Library - access to the resources of the 43 national libraries of Europe. Offers free searching and delivery of digital objects - some free, some priced.
• Bibliothèque nationale de France The French National Library
• Die Deutsche Bibliothek The German National Library
• WorldCat Catalogue of books in academic libraries from the UK, USA and worldwide