Goldsmiths - University of London
Subject Guides
Skip to main content

Online Journals & Magazines: Using Senate House

Self-registration for Senate House Library

Goldsmiths students are entitled to membership to Senate House Library which is the central library for the University of London and the School of Advanced Study. With a focus on Arts, Humanities and Social Science collections, including a number of Special Collections, it provides access to resources for Goldsmiths students and researchers at all levels of study.

Some items on course Reading Lists may be available via Senate House Library, rather than Goldsmiths Library, which is why students are expected to register for a free membership. 

To register for access to online resources just click the Register Here link at explore.gold/shl (you'll need to login with your Goldsmiths username (e.g. cuser001) and password to do this).

On completing the form you'll be emailed a link to complete the registration process and after that a second email will tell you your temporary ID number which acts as your password.

For visiting and borrowing access you simply need to visit the membership desk at Senate House Library with your valid Goldsmiths card.

If you experience any difficulties registering contact shl.membership@london.ac.uk directly.

Renewing your membership online

If you previously registered an account online but didn't visit the library to get a full membership card you need to click the Renew Here link at explore.gold/shl (you'll need to login with your Goldsmiths username (e.g. cuser001) and password to do this).

If you experience any difficulties renewing contact shl.membership@london.ac.uk directly.

Checking Senate House via Library Search

By clicking on the 'Include results from other libraries' option on the right-hand side of your Library Search results you can widen your search beyond our collections. This will include books and articles which are in the Library Search index but aren't owned by Goldsmiths. It's not the same as searching the Senate House Library catalogue but does offer links to help quickly check.

The video below shows an example of how you can quickly click through to an article in Senate House Library's catalogue from expanding your results in Library Search.



What if my journal or article isn't at Senate House?

Inter-library loans

If an item is not available through Senate House you may place an inter-library loan request. Click on the 'Click here to request an inter-library loan.' link and log in using your library barcode number and PIN. 

The page defaults to the Book Request form so please click on the link to the Journal Request form as below.

 

All the information required to complete the form is available from the menu shown above or back in Library Search.

 

Search for more information through Google Scholar

From time to time you may also find a full-text link on Google Scholar as shown below. Often these are found on university websites or institutional repositories and are reliable but Google Scholar can be prone to error. If you are unsure about a full-text article you have found on Google Scholar contact the library for advice.

 

 

JSTOR and other resources

If an article in JSTOR's Arts & Sciences collections isn't covered by Goldsmiths subscription or available from another database we subscribe to Library Search will link you to the article via Senate House Library.

These are displayed as 'full text available' without having to check the 'include results from other libraries' option as JSTOR is one of the most popular journal archives at Goldsmiths.

This means that Library Search should include results from all JSTOR Arts & Sciences collections and direct you through the appropriate login procedure to access them. 

If you prefer to log in to the JSTOR website directly you'll find a link to it alongside other Senate House Library e-resrouces on their A-Z Databases List.

 

Chat With Us

Contact Us

  email us

  @GoldsmithsLib

  02079197189