Chat With Us
Getting started with the Library
Search Reading Lists
Goldsmiths Library Instagram
Arts Research Room
The Arts Research Room is located on the second floor of the library and contains a display of current art & design journals, arts related collections and comfortable seating to use while you browse. Funding for the Art & Design Journals display initially came from the Goldsmiths Alumni and Friends Fund (formerly known as the Annual Fund) which is generously supported by alumni, staff and friends of Goldsmiths.
This is only a selection of titles we have in the library. If you are looking for a specific online journal, the best way is to search in BrowZine.
Art Journals in the Main Collection
You'll find the most recent issues of art journals on display in the Arts Research Room (highlighted in red).
Back issues can be found in the Main Collection (highlighted roughly in Green-). The Print Journals from 700-999 follow the Oversize sequence next to the windows
Arts Related Collections
Art Writing Collection
The Art Writing Collection includes artists' writing, independent & self-publishing, experimental writing, theory fiction and other genre defying modes of writing. It's not so much writing about art as writing as art practice. The collection sprung from a collaboration with two students on the MFA Art Writing programme in 2011 and continues to grow.
Engage Collection
A primary collection focused on education in the gallery including material relating to education in practice: theoretical research, reports, policy documents and learning resources.
Kathy Rae Huffman
A collection of rare media art books and catalogues collected from the 1970s onwards by Curator and Writer, Kathy Rae Huffman. Includes material on experimental video art, new media art, net.art, and cyberfeminism.
Liberate: Zines Collection
A collection of largely diy, unedited, self-published material made to circulate outside of profit. The Liberate: Zines Collection is an ongoing project and a dedicated space for recognising the intersectionality of struggles for Black, Asian, minority ethnic, and people of colour, LGBTQIA+ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer or Questioning, Intersex and Asexual), disabled, women, class-oppressed and otherwise institutionally oppressed groups through listening and including the voices of the most marginalised.
London Drama Collection
A collection of material on the history of drama teaching and theatre in education, donated by London Drama.
Pamphlet Collections
A collection of art exhibition pamphlets
Rod Fisher Collection
An archive of pamphlets and documents on global cultural policy collected during Rod Fisher's long international career. The Rod Fisher Collection is situated in the Arts Research Room on the 2nd floor of the Library at Goldsmiths. It comprises around 3,000 books, reports, papers and other documentation on the cultural policies, systems, priorities, issues, etc, for a range of countries internationally. It was donated by Rod Fisher and mainly relates to the period 1970-2010. Documents are housed in open boxes arranged alphabetically by country. Those countries with the most documentation include Canada, Finland, France, Ireland, the Netherlands, Singapore, Sweden and the USA. The UK has the largest collection of material. There is also documentation from or relating to the Council of Europe, the European Union and UNESCO. Since 2024, the Archive has been in the process of having all of its documentation catalogued to facilitate access.
