Books at Goldsmiths Library
The library has a well stocked collection of print and electronic titles on Media and Communications and other related subjects. Use Library Search to search for books by title, author, or keyword. Books are classified by the Dewey Decimal Classification system - note the classmark, including the letters to find them on the shelves.
e.g. Power without responsibility : press, broadcasting and the internet in Britain by James Curran and Jean Seaton (2010) has a classmark of 302.230942 CUR.
If the book you are looking for is not available in the library at Goldsmiths, expand your search to include Senate House books by checking the box which says 'include other libraries'. All Goldsmiths students can borrow books from Senate House library after completing a short online registration form. To register for Senate House library follow the instructions here.
See below for a list of the main classmarks for Media and Communications:
| First Floor | Second Floor | ||
| 070 | Journalism | 770 | Photography |
| 302.2 | Communications | 778 | Photojournalism |
| 302.23 | Mass media | 779.092 | Photographers |
| 302.23013 | Influence of the mass media | 791.43 | Film |
| 302.230407 | News media | 791.4301 | Film theory |
| 302.2306 | Community and alternative media | 791.4309 | Film history |
| 302.2307 | Media education | 791.43092 | Film directors |
| 302.2308 | Race and gender in the media | 791.43094-99 | National cinemas |
| 302.23094-99 | Mass media by country | 791.432 | Screenwriting |
| 303.483 | Computers and society | 791.435 | Film genres |
| 306 | Cultural studies | 791.44 | Radio |
| 306.01 | Cultural theory | 791.44/45 | Public service broadcasting (BBC) |
| 658.8 | Marketing | 791.45 | Television |
| 658.827 | Branding | 791.45094-99 | Television in individual countries |
| 659.1 | Advertising | 791.4551 | Television news |
| 659.2 | Public relations | 791.46 | Video |
eBooks
Library Search will return results for both print and electronic books. When a book is electronic you will see a link for online access. You can also visit our eBook platforms directly, via the links below, to browse through our eBook collections.
- DawsoneraYou will need to click Sign in and Shibboleth for Dawsonera to recognise your log in.
Free Online eBook Collections
- ACLS Humanities e-book This link opens in a new windowACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of nearly 2,800 books in the humanities. These titles are offered by the ACLS in collaboration with twenty learned societies, nearly 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan's Scholarly Publishing Office. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.
In Library Search - Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) This link opens in a new windowThe primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
Partially in Library Search
