Library databases
The library subscribes to over 160 databases and this number is growing. We subscribe to both subject-specific and interdisciplinary databases and whilst most databases provide full-text journal articles, we are subscribing to more databases that provide online audio or video content, as well as other types of information.
The A-Z list of our databases, with brief descriptions is available here.
Journal article databases for Art Psychotherapy
The subject specific databases listed below are recommended for Art Psychotherapy. Most will enable you to search across many journal titles and may also include book chapters, conference papers, newspapers and other publications.
Your search will be far more comprehensive than with Library Search as it will extend outside Goldsmiths’ collections and you will need to access material that we do not hold from other libraries such as Senate House, other university libraries or on interlibrary loan.
For off campus access, log in with your Goldsmiths IT/IS username and password.
INSCAPE was not indexed by any of the above services. Its successor, the International Journal of Art Therapy is now indexed by PsycINFO but only since Summer 2011. You will need to search from the e-journal home page for older articles.
Note that staff and students who join Senate House Library have remote access to their wide range of web resources.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAbstract database of psychological literature in behavioural and social sciences from 1800s to the present.
Partially in Library Search - Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowFull text resource for key subjects within this field. Can be used in conjunction with PsycInfo.
Partially in Library Search - PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowFull text journal articles published by the American Psychological Association.
In Library Search
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new windowThis database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography.
Partially in Library Search - Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowArt, art history and design periodicals, 1926-present, some full-text articles. Partially in Library Search
- PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window
To access this resource please register for free membership to Senate House Library.
PsycBOOKS is an extensive collection of peer-reviewed books that provides students, researchers, and educators access to high-quality publications in psychology and related fields. PsycBOOKS includes the newest scholarly and professional books published by APA including reference works from the APA Handbooks in Psychology® Series that delve deep into specific subfields within psychology. Partially in Library Search
Video resource
- Counseling and Therapy in Video: Vols.1-4 This link opens in a new windowCounseling and Therapy in Video provides faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. This collection provides a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens. In Library Search
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy is a streaming video service for educational institutions. Goldsmiths provide access to a small but growing collection of films.
In Library Search
Research Methods
- Sage Research Methods Online (Core collection) This link opens in a new windowA tool designed to help you create research projects and understand the methods behind them. SAGE Research Methods' taxonomy of over 1,400 methods terms links to authoritative content including: Over 640 books, Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, The entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series, Two major works collating a selection of journal articles and Newly commissioned videos. SRMO LibGuide
In Library Search
