Databases
Library Search is the quickest way to search across multiple databases to access journal articles, books, E-Books, DVDs, CDs and more. The full A-Z list of our databases, with brief descriptions is available here.
However we have specialist databases that are often better to search individually. The databases most relevant to Dance Movement Therapy are listed below.
You will need your IT username and password to access these if you are not on campus
Journal article databases for Dance Movement Psychotherapy
The subject specific databases listed below are recommended for Dance Movement Psychotherapy. Most will enable you to search across many journal titles and may also include book chapters, conference papers, newspapers and other publications.
Your search will be far more comprehensive than with Library Search as it will extend outside Goldsmiths’ collections and you will need to access material that we do not hold from other libraries such as Senate House, other university libraries or on interlibrary loan.
For off campus access, log in with your Goldsmiths IT/IS username and password.
Note that staff and students who join Senate House Library have remote access to their wide range of web resources.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAbstract database of psychological literature in behavioural and social sciences from 1800s to the present.
Partially in Library Search - PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowFull text journal articles published by the American Psychological Association.
In Library Search - Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowFull text resource for key subjects within this field. Can be used in conjunction with PsycInfo.
Partially in Library Search
Video resource
- Counseling and Therapy in Video: Vols.1-4 This link opens in a new windowCounseling and Therapy in Video provides faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. This collection provides a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens. In Library Search
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy is a streaming video service for educational institutions. Goldsmiths provide access to a small but growing collection of films.
In Library Search
- Kanopy- Giants of PsychologyA collection of films on profiling famous psychologists from Davidson Films.
The following may also be useful depending on your area of interest:
- Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window(1987- current). Coverage includes: health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Partially in Library Search - Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases with high quality independent evidence for health care decision making from the international Cochrane Collaboration including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. All are freely available online.
Partially in Library Search - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
To access this resource please register for free membership to Senate House Library.
The MLA International Bibliography is an essential tool for research in all aspects of modern languages and literature. Available as a searchable online database of more than 2.8 million records, this database is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics compiled by the Modern Language Association.
A video guide to searching the resource can be found here.
Not in Library Search - Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window(1985 – current). Full text coverage of about 275 sociology and social work journals, including many titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
In Library Search - RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowRILM (Répertoire International de la Littérature Musicale) Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive guide to publications on music from all over the world and updated regularly. Use the 'Findit@Gold' button to search for any full text articles that may be available from subscriptions held by Goldsmiths or by Senate House Library. Partially in Library Search
- Social Care Online This link opens in a new windowSocial Care Online is the UK's largest online database of information on all aspects of social work and social care. It includes legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, UK grey (informally-published) literature, reports, and journal articles. The database is updated daily and contains over 160,000 records from the 1980s onwards.
Not in Library Search - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window(1952 – current). Covers the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Indexes thousands of journal titles and also includes books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
Partially in Library Search - InCites Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new windowJournal Citation Reports (JCR) aggregates citations to selected core journals (via Web of Science), to aid citation analysis and create visualisations of a vast network of scholarship. JCR has recently published an 'editorial expression of concern' which can be read here.
Not in Library Search - Web of Science (Primary Collection) This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Primary Collection: Thomson Reuters Web of Science provides access to the world’s leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Web of Science Primary is currently comprised of 15,700 critically-selected journals, covering 257 subject areas spanning the life sciences, physical sciences, health sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. The Web of Science Primary agreement includes access to:
• Science Citation Index Expanded™ from 1970
• Social Sciences Citation Index™ from 1970
• Arts & Humanities Citation Index® from 1975
• Conference Proceedings Citation Index™ from 1990
• Emerging Sources Citation Index™
• 1 Billion cited references in total
Users should register an account to access additional features such as saved searches, email alerts and better file export options.
In Library Search
Research methods
- Sage Research Methods Online (Core collection) This link opens in a new windowA tool designed to help you create research projects and understand the methods behind them. SAGE Research Methods' taxonomy of over 1,400 methods terms links to authoritative content including: Over 640 books, Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, The entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series, Two major works collating a selection of journal articles and Newly commissioned videos. SRMO LibGuide
In Library Search
