Zines: About Goldsmiths Liberate! Zines Collection

The Liberate! Zines Collection is an ongoing project and a dedicated space for recognising the intersectionality of struggles for Black, Asian, minority ethnic, and people of colour, LGBTQIA+ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer or Questioning, Intersex and Asexual), disabled, women, class-oppressed and otherwise institutionally oppressed groups through listening and including the voices of the most marginalised.

We are doing this work as part of an effort to ensure the library collections speak to all voices, particularly those that are traditionally underrepresented in curricula and on reading lists. It supports Goldsmiths' work around decolonising the curriculum and is part of the Library’s strategy to support the Learning, Teaching, Assessment Strategy (LTAS) and to  'Liberate our degrees'.

We are working to diversify our collections, to de-centre Whiteness, to challenge non-inclusive structures in knowledge management and their impact on library collections, users, and services. We take an intersectional approach to our liberation work to encompass the many parts of a person’s identity.

If you'd like to get in contact about anything zine related, we'd love to hear from you! Please email us: liberate-zines (@gold.ac.uk)

We have also made every effort to contact all creators of the zines in this collection to ensure they are happy with the inclusion of their zine in the collection. However, if you are one of the zine creators, and would prefer not to have your zine visible in the collection please email us: liberate-zines (@gold.ac.uk) 

The collection currently includes over 200 zines focused on a wide range of topics highlighting underrepresented voices. As an example, you can find zines in the collection using the following subject headings. The subject headings have been self-defined by the zine creators themselves.

Queer Feminist Health Mental health LGBTQ Art POC (People of colour) Bisexual Race Black Poetry Non binary Trans Disability Class Menopause Illness BAME (Black, Asian and minority ethnic)

If you want to suggest a zine for inclusion in the collection we'd love to know about it. You can do that by either:

• Filling in the suggestions for purchase form at the bottom of this linked page.
• Emailing: acquisitions (@gold.ac.uk), with the Subject line: Liberate! zines