Books at Goldsmiths Library
The library has a vast collection of print and electronic titles in Anthropology and related subjects. Using Library Search to search by title, author and/or keywords is the best way to find out what we have. Books are arranged on the shelves using the Dewey Decimal Classification system. You will need to note down the number and accompanying letters for each book listed on Library Search to find the item on the shelves.
e.g. The Trobrianders of Papua New Guinea by Annette Weiner is available at 301.22953 WEI.
If the book you are looking for is not available in the library at Goldsmiths, expand your search to include Senate House books by checking the box which says 'include other libraries'. All Goldsmiths students can borrow books from Senate House library after completing a short online registration form. To register for Senate House library follow the instructions here.
See below for a list of some of the key classmarks for Anthropology:
| First Floor | 302 | Social interaction | |
| 069 | Muesums | 303.482 | Contact between cultures |
| 301 | Sociology and anthropology | 305.3 | Men and women; gender identity |
| 301.072 | Social research | 305.4 | Women |
| 301.2 | Anthropology | 305.8 | Ethnic groups |
| 301.201 | Anthropological and cultural theory | 305.80072 | Ethnography |
| 301.2072 | Research methods on Anthropology | 305.90691 | Migration |
| 301.209 | History of Anthropology | 306.6 | Sociology of religion |
| 301.2092 | Works by/about specific anthropologists, e.g. Malinowski, Mead | 307.76 | Cities; urban anthropology |
| 301.224 | Anthropology in Europe | 323 | Human rights |
| 301.225 | Anthropology in Asia | 325.3 | Postcolonial theory |
| 301.226 | Anthropology in Africa | 331.4 | Labour |
| 301.227 | Anthropology in North America | Second Floor | |
| 301.22729 | Anthropology in the Caribbean | 700 | Art |
| 301.228 | Anthropology in Latin America | 709.011 | Anthropology in art |
| 301.229 | Anthropology in Australasia and the Pacific | 780.01 | Ethnomusicology |
eBooks
Library Search will return results for both print and electronic books. When a book is electronic you will see a link for online access. You can also visit our eBook platforms directly, via the links below, to browse through our eBook collections.
Free Online eBook Collections
- ACLS Humanities e-book This link opens in a new windowACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of nearly 2,800 books in the humanities. These titles are offered by the ACLS in collaboration with twenty learned societies, nearly 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan's Scholarly Publishing Office. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.
In Library Search - Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) This link opens in a new windowThe primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
Partially in Library Search
