How do I find art books in the Library?
Art books are shelved on the 2nd floor of the library and will have a shelf number, visible on the spine of the book from 700 - 779. Shelf numbers are assigned according to subject area using a Library classification system called Dewey Decimal. You can use Library Search to locate print and electronic books. Note the class mark, including the letters to find books on the shelves.
eg. Practice makes perfect by Rosa-Johan Uddoh (2022) has a classmark of 709.2 UDD
The 'oversize section' is for books that are too large to fit on the shelves in the main sequence. They will have ‘Q’ (Quartos), ‘F’ (Folio) and ‘E’ (Elephant) before the Dewey number on the spine. You'll Find these books on the second floor, running parallel to the beginning of the 700s, along the window.
If the book you are looking for is out on loan, you can log in to the library catalogue to reserve a book.
If the book you are looking for is not available in the library at Goldsmiths, expand your search to include Senate House books by checking the box which says 'include other libraries'. All Goldsmiths students can borrow books from Senate House library after completing a short online registration form. To register for Senate House library follow the instructions here.
Mirror Reflecting Darkly by
Documenting the artistic practice of Rita Keegan: from exhibitions at major venues to everyday life as a working Black female artist. From the Bronx to Soho to Brixton, Mirror Reflecting Darkly is an exploration of the artist Rita Keegan's archive collection. Part autobiography and part critical history, it reproduces a cross-section of Keegan's archive, mapping an artistic practice that ranges from her exhibitions at such major museums and galleries as the ICA and the Tate to her curatorship of the Women of Colour Index, a groundbreaking 1987 initiative that documented Black and Asian women artists. It includes records of Keegan's journey through different creative environments of London in the 1980s and 1990s, offering rare ephemera drawn from her involvement in the Black British Art movement, covering her years as a fixture of Soho clubland, and documenting the intimate traces of her everyday life as a working Black female artist. Accompanying the selections from the archive are essays and personal reflections from a range of writers, academics, and artists--including Keegan herself--which expand upon the themes from the material: networks of creative kinship, the story of British Black Arts, self-archiving, and archiving as activism. Contributors Barby Asante, Ego Ahaiwe Sowinski, Mora J. Beauchamp-Byrd, Janice Cheddie, Lauren Craig, Lucy Davies, Althea Greenan, Joy Gregory, Hiroko Hagiwara, Matthew Harle, Rita Keegan, Shaheen Merali, Naomi Pearce
Call Number: 700.92 KEEISBN: 9781912685912Publication Date: 2021-10-26
Useful shelf numbers for Art
First Floor
| 006 | Digital imaging |
| 100 | Philosophy |
| 303.4833 | Digital Culture |
| 306 | Cultural studies |
Second Floor
| 701 | Art theory |
| 707 | Art Education |
| 707.4 | Biennale Catalogues |
| 708 | Curating |
| 709 | Art History |
| 709.04 and 709.2 | 20th/21st Century artists (alphabetical by artists last name) |
| 709.04063 | Surrealism (and other art movements shelved from 709.040....) |
| 709.0408 | Sound and electronic art |
| 730 | Sculpture |
| 741 | Drawing |
| 759 | Painting |
| 770 | Photography |
| 791.4301 | Film theory |
| Arts Research Room | Art Writing Collection, Zines, Kathy Rae Huffman, pamphlets & current journals |
eBooks
Library Search will return results for both print and electronic books. When a book is electronic you will see a link for online access. You can also visit our eBook platforms directly, via the links below, to browse through our eBook collections.
Free Online eBook Collections
- ACLS Humanities e-book This link opens in a new windowACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of nearly 2,800 books in the humanities. These titles are offered by the ACLS in collaboration with twenty learned societies, nearly 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan's Scholarly Publishing Office. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.
In Library Search - Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) This link opens in a new windowThe primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
Partially in Library Search
