Library databases
The library subscribes to over 160 databases and this number is growing. We subscribe to both subject-specific and interdisciplinary databases and whilst most databases provide full-text journal articles, we are subscribing to more databases that provide online audio or video content, as well as other types of information.
The A-Z list of our databases, with brief descriptions is available here.
Databases for Psychosocial Studies
The subject specific databases listed below are recommended for Psychosocial Studies. Most will enable you to search across many journal titles and may also include book chapters, conference papers, newspapers and other publications.
Your search will be far more comprehensive than with Library Search as it will extend outside Goldsmiths’ collections and you will need to access material that we do not hold from other libraries such as Senate House, other university libraries or on interlibrary loan.
For off campus access, log in with your Goldsmiths IT/IS username and password.
Note that staff and students who join Senate House Library have remote access to their wide range of web resources.
Journal article databases for psychology
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAbstract database of psychological literature in behavioural and social sciences from 1800s to the present.
Partially in Library Search - PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowFull text journal articles published by the American Psychological Association.
In Library Search - Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowFull text resource for key subjects within this field. Can be used in conjunction with PsycInfo.
Partially in Library Search
Journal article databases for sociology
- Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window(1987- current). Coverage includes: health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Partially in Library Search - Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
In Library Search - Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window(1985 – current). Full text coverage of about 275 sociology and social work journals, including many titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
In Library Search - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window(1952 – current). Covers the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Indexes thousands of journal titles and also includes books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
Partially in Library Search
Journal article database for anthropology
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowAnthroSource contains more than 300,000 full-text articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs in a single place; and 24/7 access to scientific research information across the field of anthropology.
Partially in Library Search
Research methods
- Sage Research Methods Online (Core collection) This link opens in a new windowA tool designed to help you create research projects and understand the methods behind them. SAGE Research Methods' taxonomy of over 1,400 methods terms links to authoritative content including: Over 640 books, Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, The entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series, Two major works collating a selection of journal articles and Newly commissioned videos. SRMO LibGuide
In Library Search
Multidisciplinary academic journal article databases
- JSTOR Art and Sciences Collections I-XV This link opens in a new windowGoldsmiths members have access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences collections I-XV. The collections provide access to an archival back run of each journal, often dating back to Vol.1. Current journals are subject to a "moving wall" of access between 2 and 5 years behind the most recently published issue.
Arts & Sciences journals archives is one of several JSTOR databases Goldsmiths have access to. See here for a full list.
In Library Search
Video resource
- Counseling and Therapy in Video: Vols.1-4 This link opens in a new windowCounseling and Therapy in Video provides faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. This collection provides a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens. In Library Search
Others
- Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowArt, art history and design periodicals, 1926-present, some full-text articles. Partially in Library Search
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new windowThis database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography.
Partially in Library Search - Web of Science (Primary Collection) This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Primary Collection: Thomson Reuters Web of Science provides access to the world’s leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Web of Science Primary is currently comprised of 15,700 critically-selected journals, covering 257 subject areas spanning the life sciences, physical sciences, health sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. The Web of Science Primary agreement includes access to:
• Science Citation Index Expanded™ from 1970
• Social Sciences Citation Index™ from 1970
• Arts & Humanities Citation Index® from 1975
• Conference Proceedings Citation Index™ from 1990
• Emerging Sources Citation Index™
• 1 Billion cited references in total
Users should register an account to access additional features such as saved searches, email alerts and better file export options.
In Library Search
Librarian
