Goldsmiths - University of London
Subject Guides
Skip to main content

Open Access: Open Access Resources

The Goldsmiths Library's introduction and overview of Open Access

Browser tools

Here are two useful tools to help you discover Open Access content online:

UnPaywall: A browser extension that can be downloaded for Chrome and Firefox that allows you to find free, full text versions of articles, where they exist.

Open Access Button: A free, open source tool that can be used online via the website or as a browser extension for

Directories of Open Access content

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB): Provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed
monographs and edited volumes from 155 publishers.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): DOAJ provides the full text articles from over 9,500 journals from 145 countries.

Connecting Repositories (CORE): Provides free access to millions of scholarly articles aggregated from Open Access repositories.

HAL: The HAL open archive, containing numerous full text papers, with page navigation available in French and English (and including papers in other languages).

OpenDOAR: A directory of academic Open Access repositories providing full text papers from universities worldwide.

SciELO:  Scientific Electronic Library Online, longstanding  and wide-ranging directory of Open Access publications in Portuguese, Spanish & English.

 

Open Access journals and books

The following links give access to some of the key Open Access resources. The list is not exhaustive but does give an indication of the range of Open Access material available. Another similar list of Open Access resources that has been developed for Goldsmiths alumni (but containing resources available to all), is available on the Goldsmiths Library website.

AJOL Open Access Journals:  the African Journals Online collection of Open Access journals.

Goldsmiths Press: An Open Access university press based at Goldsmiths.

The Internet Archive: Offers over 15,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is
also a collection of 550,000 modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free
archive.org account.

JSTOR Open Access: Full text Open Access journal articles and book chapters.

Project Gutenberg: Scanned and electronic versions of books no longer under copyright. You will not find the latest titles but you will find the old classics such as Shakespeare.

 

Theses

EThOS: Electronic Theses Online Service Access UK PhD theses through EThOS - the British
Library electronic theses online service.

DART-Europe E-Theses Portal: Provides access to over 100,000 full text research theses from
over 12 countries. Participating countries and institutions are listed on the website.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations: A network listing the electronic
postgraduate theses of hundreds of universities worldwide.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations: An index of over 2.5 million graduate theses and
dissertations from around the world, freely available online.

Subject specific resources

Here are some examples of Open Access resources that are dedicated to subject areas relevant to Goldsmiths students.

arXiv: An open access resource for over 780,000 science-related papers, including computer
science, mathematics and statistics.

CogPrints: An archive of papers covering psychology, neuroscience, and linguistics, and many areas of computer science.

Digital Education Resource Archive (DERA): Digital archive of online publications produced by government and other relevant bodies in the areas of education.

HAL Sciences de l'Homme et de la Société: the social sciences and humanities repository within the wider HAL open archive, available in French and English.

Marxist Internet Archive (MIA): Online library of public domain Marxist writings and audio.

Open Humanities Press: Peer-reviewed Open Access books and journals in the humanities.

Open Library of Humanities: Publishes peer-reviewed scholarship across the humanities
disciplines.

Public Library of Science (PLoS): A non-profit publisher of Open Access peer-reviewed journals in science and medicine.

Punctum Books: A non-profit Open Access publisher across eclectic humanities subjects

Evaluating Open Access resources

When using Open Access resources, it is important that you think critically about the academic quality of the information you have found and its relevance to your work.  The Academic Skills Centre at Goldsmiths have created an online tutorial that will help you to evaluate the information you are going to use in your assignments https://libguides.gold.ac.uk/aso/library/evaluating

Chat With Us

Contact Us