Senate House Library
Senate House library has extensive newspaper collections. The Newspapers and Current Affairs library guide gives a thorough overview of their newspaper provision. Goldsmiths staff and students can register for access online for free access to Senate House's electronic resources. For more information see our guide to registering.
They also have access to UK and international newspapers and magazines, including The Economist, The Financial Times and The New York Review of Books.
Senate House also has access to newspaper digital archives, including:
- American Historic Newspapers
- Australian Newspapers
- Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library
Guildhall Library
Guildhall Library is a free, public reference library in the City of London, which specialises in the history of London. As well as its vast historical collections dating back from the 15th century, it also has extensive access to newspaper collections.
Guildhall Library has access to London and national newspapers in either hard copy or microfilm, including The Financial Times and The Times, as well as various London-based newspapers that are long defunct.
They also have access to many online collections of newspapers, including:
- 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, predominantly London newspapers of the 17th and 18th centuries.
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers, which includes national and regional newspapers.
- Daily Mirror Digital Archive 1903 to date
- The Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2006
- The Illustrated London News 1842-2003
- Picture Post Historical Archive 1938-1957
- Times Digital Archive 1785-2006
As it is a free, public reference library, there is no need to register to use the library.