Jump to:
Introduction
The library offers access to a wide range of current and historical newspapers including national, international and regional titles from the Aberdeen Evening Express to The Yorkshire Freeholder and everything in between. You can take a look at our full list of newspaper databases by filtering our e-Resources A-Z list as well as a summary of key resources below.
Current News
-
International Newsstream This link opens in a new windowTo access this resource please register for free membership to Senate House Library.
ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
ProQuest International Newsstream has a simple interface for browsing the day's news and you can also save searches or set up RSS feeds or email alerts to stay up to date with coverage of particular topics.
-
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new windowTo access this resource please register for free membership to Senate House Library.
InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
InfoTrac Newsstand has a simple interface for browsing the day's news and you can also save searches or set up RSS feeds or email alerts to stay up to date with coverage of particular topics. Additionally, the Topic Finder visualises connections between keywords found in the top results.
-
Nexis This link opens in a new windowNexis is a legal and business information database which also contains thousands of national and international newspapers and other news sources. The News Search tab provides sophisticated search functionality for more advanced search queries. It is also capable of exporting the full text of search results in a variety of formats to cloud storage or immediate download.
-
Westlaw International This link opens in a new windowWestlaw International primarily includes case law and legislation but also includes news content from major outlets around the world.
The
News Magazines
-
Economist This link opens in a new windowCoverage via Westlaw includes access to both print and online editions of The Economist from the current issue back to November 2003.
Not in Library Search -
Exact Editions This link opens in a new windowWe provide a growing collection of news and current affairs magazines via the Exact Editions which makes it easy for you to read magazines and books on iPad, iPhone, Android, Kindle Fire and online. A guide to installing and using the app can be found here.
News Archives
-
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowGale Primary Sources is a site which allows you to easily cross-search our Gale newspaper archives:
* 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
* 19th Century UK Periodicals: New Readerships
* British Library Newspapers, part I and II
Not in Library Search
-
Historical Newspapers: The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859 - 2016) This link opens in a new windowArchive access to The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times from 1859 - 2016.
In Library Search
-
The Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
To access this resource please register for free membership to Senate House Library.
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
Not in Library Search