Goldsmiths - University of London
Subject Guides
Skip to main content

STACS - Understanding Domestic Violence and Sexual Abuse: Journals

Chat With Us

Getting started with the Library

Online Library Induction 2019.

Search Reading Lists

Search for Reading Lists

Searching for journal articles

The easiest way to find journal articles for your subject is to use Library Search. This will search across most* of our journals and database collections. Enter a few words or phrases into the main search bar, e.g. 'counselling and children' and you'll receive a set of results, which can be refined by various criteria, e.g. topic, creator, etc. You should be able to access the full text of any article in your search results. Click on the title and follow the link to the online resource under View Online in the pop up window.

If you are on-campus, the content provider should know that you are a Goldsmiths user and provide access easily. If you are off-campus, you will need to sign-in as a Goldsmiths user. You might be deliberately prompted to sign-in, but if not, look for a sign-in option (usually at the top of the page). You will probably see a range of choices - look for either Institutional or Shibboleth log-in. You might then need to choose your region/university - after which you can enter your username and password to access the full-text.

Some journals may only be available in print - journals with a classmark between 000-699 are on the first floor. Journals with a classmark of 700- are on the second floor. These cannot be borrowed, but articles can be photocopied.

Senate House also subscribes to many journals that we don't have subscriptions to. Register in person and ask for access to electronic resources. Once registered, you can use all their electronic journals off-campus.

If you need a journal article unavailable here or at Senate House, you can request it on Inter Library Loan.  Use the link on the search screen of the library catalogue.

* NOTE: Library Search does not search across databases supplied by EBSCO.  This includes all the psychology databases, including PsycINFO, which you will need to search separately.  Find them under the Databases tab.

Librarian

Alice Harvey's picture
Alice Harvey
Contact:
During Covid-19 closure I am fully available for online remote support, so do please contact me to organise it.

Contact Us