Chat With Us
Getting started with the Library
Workshops
Search Reading Lists
Tips for using Library Search to find Music Resources
Subject Librarian support for your studies
Your Subject Librarian can help you with:
- Locating online information for your assignments
- Finding information for your research topic
- Referencing
- Using Zotero to manage your references
For help with finding the best resources for your research and assignments you can make an appointment with a subject librarian.
Access to E-resources
The Library has an extensive collection of over 40,000 ebooks and hundreds of thousands of online journal articles and other e-resources that you can use from home during this period of isolation.
TIP: When using Library Search, after starting your search use the Availability filter 'Full Text Online' to eliminate any print only sources from your search.
- Electronic ResourcesUse the 'A to Z' below to find links to full-text e-journal databases, on-line indexes and bibliographic databases.
- E-JournalsUse BrowZine to easily browse, read, and monitor thousands of journals.
- Senate House Library self-registrationGoldsmiths students and staff (including Emeritus Professors) can self-register for instant access to most of Senate House Library’s databases and e-resources by following the steps on our Library Guide.
Key Online Resources for Music
Explore the Books, Journals, Dictionaries, Databases, Scores, and Sound & Audiovisual Tabs on this guide to find online resources for each type of resource.
Below are the key music e-resource collections, you will find more in the individual tabs.
- Grove Music Online (now Oxford Music Online) This link opens in a new windowA key online music reference source that includes Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. A good place to start your research.
In Library Search - RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive index of publications on music from all over the world and updated regularly. Use the 'Findit@Gold' button to find the online full text of the articles through Goldsmiths or Senate House Library. If you cannot access the online text through either, you can request an inter-library loan and we may be able to email the PDF to you.
Partially in Library Search - Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new windowOn demand TV, Film and radio streaming service for education. Access recordings of programme aired on 65 free-to-air channels, including an extensive archive.
Partially in Library Search - Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowNaxos Music Library is the world´s largest online streaming library of classical music. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 129,810 CDs with more than 1,985,900 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. Please log out after use as our license only permits seven simultaneous users.
Not in Library Search
Librarian
