Chat With Us
Getting started with the Library
Finding other collections
- Search25Search for library resources across London and the South East
- Library Hub Discover (Previously Copac)Searches across 115 UK and Irish academic, national & specialist library catalogues. Useful for finding potential libraries to visit. Replaces Copac and SUNCAT.
Search Reading Lists
Senate House
Goldsmiths students and staff have access to Senate House, the University of London's central Library. As well as print resources, you can also access most of Senate House's e-resources from home (including many journal articles). Senate House's Psychology collection includes the British Psychological Society collections.
To self-register for access to Senate House Library, and to find more information about Psychology related collections available at Senate House, please follow the links above.
Using other libraries
If Goldsmiths library does not have the material you require for your research, there are other libraries that you can use for either reference or borrowing purposes. For some libraries, your Goldsmiths ID card is sufficient; for others you might need to apply for SCONUL Access. Please make sure you understand the requirements for each library. Alternatively, you can request an inter-library loan of a book or a journal article from Library Search. Choose Inter-Library Loan and then sign-in. Use the book or journal article templates to make your request.
For more information on using other libraries, or requesting inter-library loans, please explore the links below.
Sconul Access
SCONUL Access is a scheme which allows many university library users to borrow or use books and journals at other libraries which belong to the scheme.
To apply for access, visit this page and then complete the two steps asking which kind of student you are and your home institution. You will see all university libraries you are eligible to use. You can apply to use a specific library but you will actually have access to all libraries that participate in the scheme. Once you have applied, you will receive confirmation from us shortly after than your application has been successful. Print/Show this email to the library you then wish to visit. Reference or borrowing permissions will be provided depending on the level of student you are.
Other libraries
|
|
The national library of the UK; the British Library is also a legal deposit library, therefore has a copy of every item published in the UK. The British Library is based at St Pancras, but some materials are held in Boston Spa and must be requested - check the catalogue to see availability/location of materials. Reader passes must be applied for, please see conditions. Of interest might also be the Business and IP Centre and the British Library Newsroom |
|
|
The City of London's non-profit public library specialising in business information - includes databases, market research data, statistics, business data, etc. You can join this library online on the membership page by selecting "Access Membership: Free". Once registered you can access four good databases (including the specialist market research resource, COBRA) remotely, ie without the need to visit the library. Plus the library has many other very good databases and materials that you can access within the City Business Library itself. |
Public Libraries
An underrated library service for academic research is actually your local public library. Most will have access to various electronic resources that might be of use, e.g. newspaper archives. Registering with your local library is usually simple. Here is a list of library websites for local boroughs:
Librarian
