Information for researchers
If you need assistance for your research, you can contact your Subject Librarian, Caitlin Moore, in the first instance (see the right hand column) or if you need specific assistance for copyright or using GRO, please use the contacts below.
PhD Students
All PhD students are encouraged to make an appointment with your Subject Librarian, Caitlin Moore, to discuss resources to support your research.
Systematic Reviews and Literature Reviews for Psychology
The following databases will be useful for literature reviews and systematic reviews for psychology. Please book an appointment for advice for your specific topic, including constructing your search string.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowRecommended for all psychology literature reviews. Abstract database of psychological literature in behavioural and social sciences from 1800s to the present. Includes PsycArticles. Goldsmiths subscription.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowRecommended for all psychology literature reviews, required for Cochrane Systematic Reviews. Citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioural sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Includes MEDLINE. Free index provided by the NCBI.
- Web of Science (Primary Collection) This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary citation index. Goldsmiths subscription.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowRequired for Cochrane Systematic Reviews. Cochrane provides systematic reviews and other synthesized research evidence to promote evidence-informed health decisions. This free online search contains three databases Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Clinical Answers.
- Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new windowAbstract database designed to serve the information needs of the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education, and related areas.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle search for academic resources. To add our FindIt@Gold links to your Google Scholar search results go to your settings (http://bit.do/LibraryLinks), search for Goldsmiths, tick the boxes and click Save.
Useful resources for systematic reviews
- PRISMAPRISMA is an evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in systematic reviews and meta-analyses. PRISMA focuses on the reporting of reviews evaluating randomized trials, but can also be used as a basis for reporting systematic reviews of other types of research, particularly evaluations of interventions.
Research information services
- Goldsmiths Research Online
- Goldsmiths Records Management Policy (clause on research data)
- Goldsmiths Open Access Journals platform
- DMP Online (data management planning tool) Sign in with 'institutional credentials' to use the Goldsmiths template.
- IRUS (repository statistics) Go to the 'Portal' at top right and use your Goldsmiths sign in.
Publishers and open access
- SHERPA/FACT (funders and authors compliance tool, to help you find out which journals comply with RCUK and Wellcome Trust open access publication requirements)
- SHERPA/ROMEO (publisher copyright policies and self-archiving (check publisher permissions for putting articles in GRO)
- DOAJ (directory of open access journals)
- DOAB (directory of open access books)
Copright and IPR
- Goldsmiths copyright licences
- OAPEN-UK Guide to Creative Commons (explores concerns about CC expressed in public evidence given by researchers, learned societies and publishers)
Other
Research Ethics Guidebook
A resource for social science researchers (early career and more experienced) from the Institute of Education, funded by the ESRC.
Librarian
Caitlin Moore
Subjects: Art Psychotherapy, Community and Youth Work / Community Development and Community Arts, Computing, Counselling and Psychotherapeutic Studies, Dance Movement Psychotherapy, Institute of Management Studies (IMS), Law, Music, Psychology, Psychosocial Studies, Social Work, Sociology, Understanding Domestic Violence and Sexual Abuse