Literature Searching for Psychology Students
This video will show you how to find journal articles and empirical papers using Library Search and PsycInfo.
Subject Librarian support for your studies
Your Subject Librarian can help you with:
- Locating online information for your assignments
- Finding information for your research topic
- Referencing
- Using Zotero to manage your references
For help with finding the best resources for your research and assignments you can make an appointment with a subject librarian.
Access to E-resources
The Library has an extensive collection of over 40,000 ebooks and hundreds of thousands of online journal articles and other e-resources that you can use from home during this period of isolation.
TIP: When using Library Search, after starting your search use the Availability filter 'Full Text Online' to eliminate any print only sources from your search.
- Electronic ResourcesUse the 'A to Z' below to find links to full-text e-journal databases, on-line indexes and bibliographic databases.
- E-JournalsUse BrowZine to easily browse, read, and monitor thousands of journals.
- Senate House Library self-registrationGoldsmiths students and staff (including Emeritus Professors) can self-register for instant access to most of Senate House Library’s databases and e-resources by following the steps on our Library Guide.
Key Online Resources for Psychology
Explore the Books, Journals, Databases tabs on this guide to find online resources for each type of resource.
Below are the key psychology e-resource collections, you will find more in the individual tabs.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAbstract database of psychological literature in behavioural and social sciences from 1800s to the present. Use the 'Findit@Gold' button to find the online full text of the articles through Goldsmiths or Senate House Library. If you cannot access the online text through either, you can request an inter-library loan and we may be able to email the PDF to you.
Partially in Library Search - PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Not in Library Search - Sage Research Methods Online (Core collection) This link opens in a new windowA tool designed to help you create research projects and understand the methods behind them. SAGE Research Methods' taxonomy of over 1,400 methods terms links to authoritative content including: Over 640 books, Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, The entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series, Two major works collating a selection of journal articles and Newly commissioned videos. SRMO LibGuide
In Library Search - PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window
To access this resource please register for free membership to Senate House Library.
PsycBOOKS is an ebook collection that you can access using your Senate House log in. These will not appear in Library Search, so remember to search PsycBOOKs directly. PsycBOOKS includes the newest scholarly and professional books published by APA including reference works from the APA Handbooks in Psychology® Series. Partially in Library Search
Librarian
